Samsung SPH-M800 Instinct Review

Alright, so I’m going to review my phone. Although if I could choose again, I would have bought an Omnia or an EnV, but it is a very good phone.

The Good: Call quality, Battery life, Submenus, Call menus, Size, Touch screen sensitivity.Instinct

The Bad: Menu, Price of services, Music player.

Annoyances: Headset jack.

Overview: Overall, this is a great phone. I find the battery life goes for 3 days without a recharge. The call quality is very good. I can whisper and the person on the other line can hear me. The call menu and submenus are very well organized I like the little virtual sliders and switches. I also like how the phone vibrates a tiny bit when you press a button. This could be annoying to some. What i don’t like is the menu. It resembles the iPhone way too much for my taste. If I wanted a menu like that I would have bought an iphone (the call quality was what won me over). If I want satelite radio, or television, I have to pay 8$! If this is a one-shot 8$, I might pay it, but if it’s per month… I also didn’t like is the music player. All the controls (besides volume) are on-screen. If they fit a play-pause button somewhere by the volume controls, I would be totally sold. The headset jack has a little cover on it, an I always think it will break off but it doesn’t. It never breaks! I don’t know how. It is just so unimaginably annoying!

That’s about it.

Any mini-reviews or rebuttals are welcome.

(Note that my service provider is Bell. Among other differences, the Bell Instinct has blue lettering and is alot less glitchy than the Sprint version pictured).

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Skysurfer on 2009/09/24 - 10:41

    Hi Steven, how high is the volume on the music player thriugh the headset? Mine is very low to my taste. I’ve learned that it can be tweaked in order to rise its factory-volume-level, but I can’t find it. By chance, do you know how to do it?

    Thanks in advance,

    Skysurfer

    • #2 by Stephane on 2009/09/24 - 16:45

      Skysurfer, the volume is quite low, but I’ve never heard of a way to break the factory limit. I will look around for it. Once I find it I will defiantly post a How-To. It would benefit me as well, so trust that I will as soon as I find the time.
      Thanks for commenting,
      Stephane

      (Not Stephanie).

  2. #3 by Stephane on 2009/09/24 - 17:19

    I have scoured Google, Bing and the Instinct Forum.

    Nothing.

    But, I have 2 things to try:

    1) Buy volume-control earbuds. I worked for me.
    2)Use Audacity or GarageBand to manually increase the volume of each song (mind you, It won’t play any higher that the physical volume limit of the phone).

    That is really the best I can do. I hope you won’t lose faith in Indexed for it. Sorry I couldn’t be any better.

    • #4 by Skysurfer on 2009/11/09 - 14:13

      Thanks a lot for your help and time, I also did not find anything about it, but did you know how to manually update the firmware and, first of all, where I can find latest updates?

  3. #5 by Stéphane on 2009/11/09 - 16:44

    You can find all the updates on the phone itself, no computer required.
    Under the “Main” tab, click settings, then click “General.” Scroll down and select “Update Software.” It will do the rest automatically. After that, go back to where you were and select “Update PRL.”

    It’s as simple as that.

    Come back again!

Leave a Reply

