HP Pavillion dv9000z Review

I’ve been waiting for this moment for a while now; it’s time to review my own computer. I’ve had it for 2 years now, so everything I say is from experience.

The Good: Large screen, relatively fast graphics, turn-off track-pad, 2 headphone  jacks (one SPDIF), express-card slot, FireWire, Expansion Port 3, S-Vid in, LightScribe, number pad (note: the model in the picture has no number-pad, but mine does ), multi-card reader, Altec Lansing speakers.

The Bad: Wireless G, 2gb RAM limit, no Bluetooth, touch-sensitive volume control, Quickplay.

Annoyances: Screen locks closed, too much shiny crap that my OCD brain must keep spotless.

Overview: When I bought this Laptop, it was top-of-the-line, but now, two years and a reformat later it’s beginning to feel old. It can still handle games like Halo 1, and barely Halo 2 (which I stupidly bought without reading the label). Overall, it’s only needed two repairs, one for the WLAN cars and one for the battery. One great feature is that it has an IR-in port, and comes with a IR remote (now note that the only programs that have ever worked with this remote are Quickplay and Foobar2000, and only whan they are the active window). The volume controls are where it gets a little messy. The make a sharp clicking sound whenever they are touched. It really interrupts music and video playback. The touch sensitive playback controls also only work with Quickplay or Foobar200, but only when they are the active window. The Pavilions have been known to have an abundance of media ports. I personally have 10 different types. Other models have an HDMI-out, but have to sacrifice LightScribe. The Altec Lansing speakers are amazing. The sound quality really equal to that of external speakers! It’s a bit annoying that a notebook of this caliber doesn’t have built-in Bluetooth. I already mentioned how much I hate Bluetooth mice, but I still need it to sync my phone right? A while ago I wanted to jump to the 32-bit limit of 3gb of RAM. I ran a Crucial.com scan and found that I was physically limited to 2gb because my card-maker only makes 1gb sticks. I have 64mb integrated graphics. Not great for in general, but pretty good for a laptop. HP has this thing with shiny stuff that I really don’t get. the screen frame is shiny, the track-pad border is shiny, the USB ports are shiny. Get this HP: OVERKILL. There are always fingerprints on this thing, no matter what I do!

Overall, this is a great laptop. If I could go back in time, I would have recommended it to you in 2007. But still, just staying competent today is quite a feat. I’m going to be doing a lot more reviews, so stay tuned!

For the record, I don’t actually have OCD.

EDIT: I found a way to turn off the clicking noise in the BIOS!

, , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

